Anders Wall Award


Anders Wall Foundation from Stockholm in association with the European Commission, Directorate General for the Environment, Brussels, the Royal Swedish Academy of Agriculture and Forestry and the "Friends of the Countryside", has decided to introduce an award for individuals who have made a special contribution to the rural environment within the European Union.


Description of the Award


Anders Wall Award grants a prize to private individuals who have made a special contribution to the rural environment within the European Union.


Eligibility criteria:

-          Only private enterprises can enter the competition.

-          Their actions must be of importance at multiple levels: local, national and/or European.

-          The actions must be based on the use of quality instruments and management practices which               contribute to the improvement of the quality of the environment.

Selection criteria:

Their achievements should preferably include the following elements:

-          Preserving and enhancing the landscape.

-          Providing biodiversity.

-          Preserving the countryside's cultural heritage.

-          Contributing to sustainable economic local development.

Prize description:

The landowner of the selected project will receive a prize of €20,000.


A new call for proposals will open soon. Stay tuned.

Award Winners 

2003 - Barritskov, Denmark. Thomas Harttung 

2004 - Herdade do Pinheiro, Portugal. Jacqueline Violet 

2005 - Les Salins du Midi, France. Gerard Dumonteil 

2006 - Agriturismo Cassinazza, Italy. Giuseppe Natta 

2007 - Clinton Devon Estate, United Kingdom. Lord Clinton 

2008 - Jarras-Listel Estate, France. Paul-Francois Vranken 

2009 - Wrams Gunnarstorp Estates, Sweden. Rudolf Tornerhjelm 

2010 - Escrick Park Estate, England. Charles Forbes Adam

2011 - Jaunumuli Estate , Latvia. Kalnins Madars 

2012 - Järvikyla Estate, Finland. Karl Grotenfelt 

2013 - Danilovka Estate, Russia. Michail Orlov 

2014 - Heihuyzen Estate, Belgium. Christophe Lenaerts 

2015 - Castelo Melhor Estate, Portugal. João Portugal Ramos and José Maria Soares Franco 

2016 - Winner of prize: The Honourable Evelyn Boscawen, Tregothnan Estate, United Kingdom; Winner of diploma: Fernando de Andrada-Vanderwilde Contreras, Puerto Bajo de la Cereceda Estate, Spain.

2017 - Winner of prize: Sir Charles Burrell, Knepp Estate, Horsham, United Kingdom; Winner of diploma: Sr. Quijano Navarro, Baron Island Falconry Experience, Mar Menor, Murcia, Spain.

2018 - Winner of prize: Günther Graf von der Schulenburg, Schulenburg Estates, Germany; Winner of diploma: Mario Muscat, Dingli Cliffs, Malta.

2019 - Winner of prize: Baltzar Wachtmeister, Wanås Gods AB, Sweden; Winner of diploma: Mark & Jane Tufnell, Calmsden Farms, United Kingdom.

2020 - Winner of prize: Wilfersdorf Agricultural and Forestry Company of the Foundation Prince Liechtenstein, with the project “Cultivating Diversity – 35 Actions for a Livable Natural and Cultural Heritage in Lower Austria”, Austria.





Follow Us on Twitter

Twitter response: "Could not authenticate you."

Our Team

Our Office

67 rue de Trèves
B - 1040 Bruxelles
Tel. : 00 32 (0)2 234 30 00
Fax : 00 32 (0)2 234 30 09
E-mail: elo(at)